The Singapore Prize 2023 Winners Announced

The Singapore Prize, a US$50,000 award given every three years to writers whose works have demonstrated outstanding ability to portray the human experience, has been awarded to nine authors since its inception. The prize is administered by the Department of History, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at NUS. It is open to works written in, or translated to, English by creators of any nationality.

The 2023 winners were announced on Tuesday at a star-studded awards ceremony held at Mediacorp Campus in Singapore. The event was co-hosted by actors Hannah Waddingham and Sterling K. Brown, and featured performances by bands One Republic and Bastille. Actors Mbatha and Yen, as well as New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, were also present. This year’s event celebrated the tenth anniversary of the prize and marked the first time that five writers were shortlisted in two categories each. Clara Chow is the only writer to be shortlisted in both the English fiction and English creative nonfiction categories, while GRST and WildAid Marine Program were shortlisted in the science and conservation categories respectively.

Despite the glitzy nature of the event, the organisers emphasised sustainability, including a green carpet and eco-friendly lighting. William wore a 10-year-old dark green suit by Alexander McQueen, and other presenters donned sustainable clothes, including a gown by Stella McCartney. The program also returned to its readers’ favorite exercise, in which the public voted online for their favourite shortlisted book. The winner in each language will receive $1,000 Singapore dollars.

This is a list of prizes, medals and awards (including cups, trophies, bowls, badges, state decorations etc) awarded in Singapore. The list is dynamic and may never be able to satisfy particular standards for completeness. It is compiled from publicly available information and may be updated over time.

At the halfway stage of the breakaway tour’s third season, Chile’s Joaquin Niemann leads the individual points race from Spain’s Jon Rahm and U.S.’s Dustin Johnson, while Bryson DeChambeau and Sergio Garcia are among those within the top-10 chasing the title. Ahead of a month-long break, the tour heads to Sentosa Golf Club in Singapore this week.

The first of three tournaments in the series, the Singapore Golf Challenge, carries a prize purse of $25,000,000, and will feature an international roster of talent. The tournament’s top-tier players, led by defending champion Koepka, will share the $4,000,000 top prize money.

The second of three tournaments in the season, the Singapore Masters, has a prize purse of $10,000,000 and will feature a lineup featuring many of the sport’s biggest names. It is the only tournament in the calendar to feature all of the current world number one players, with the exception of defending champion Rory McIlroy. The competition will be played at the Singapore Golf Club in early January.